FEAR

I’ve had more than a few people ask me when they’re perusing my Killeroo comics and artwork samples, why it is that I haven’t drawn those comics myself?

The answer is fear.

Fear of not having my work stand up to scrutiny.
Fear that I’m not as skilled as other artists.
Fear of the blank page.

It’s taken me a long time to realise that these fears are COMPLETELY NORMAL.

The choice you have when confronted by fear is whether you:

a. Let it stop you in your tracks, OR
b. Forge ahead regardless

It is a FACT that I’m not as skilled as other artists.
Why is this? It’s because when these other artists were first faced with this very same fear, they said “Fuck it. I’m going to draw comics ANYWAY.”

Were these first comics they made any good? Most likely, no they weren’t.
But through the process, they began to learn what worked, and what didn’t. What panels looked good, and told the story well, and what panels didn’t. Their knowledge of anatomy improved.

Rather than being intimidated by what other artists had done, they began to study these works analytically. Observed the choices THEY made in storytelling, their panel layouts, and then adopted those things they admired into their OWN work.

Each panel you draw, every page completed, every finished comic you make – makes you a BETTER artist and storyteller.

But you’ve got to start first.
This is something that’s taken me 15 YEARS to learn. That’s an awful long time to live in fear, a lot of WASTED time.

I’m starting now.
I’ve got help and support from my friends and associates, and I’m not wasting another second.

Don’t make the mistake I made.
Don’t live in fear.

2 thoughts on “FEAR

  1. The fear is part of what makes people strive. The need for “apprenticeship” time is why we should be supportive (and tolerant) with new artists starting out, particularly where they’re working with an individual style and vision that’s going to take time to blossom. I’m always a bit shocked when I look back to the beginning pages of any new project, because every one is a learning process in itself.

    What none of us need is anyone giving us too much crap when we give it our best shot. I still don’t crosshatch much due to criticisms I received of my early work (it was unfashionable then), and I remember verbatim the harsher, non-constructive comments. I still don’t enjoy dismissive reviews by people who have a particular taste I’m unsuited for (you know who you are). What I do enjoy is worthwhile exchange with colleagues and contemporaries.

    From what I’ve seen lately, you have fully arrived as the definitive Killeroo artist, so damn the torpedoes!

  2. Saying F.. it is easy but then what? What most people need is someone behind them saying try harder, keep going, even if they can see they have a long way to go. Without this person (partner, friend or collegue) we are all a little lost in the fear equation. When I first built my website I didn’t have a clue, but forged ahead. I sat beside someone who knew a lot and gave me advixe from time to time. It wasn’t a lot of advice but Iknew if he could do it then I could to.

Leave a Reply

